Private Hire Regulations Review

Closed 19 Jun 2015

Opened 27 Mar 2015

Results Updated 6 Apr 2016

We undertook a consultation on private hire regulations between 27 March and 19 June 2015. We received almost 4,000 responses and these have now been analysed. Responses (apart from stakeholders) were analysed by Steer Davis Gleave (SDG), an independent consultancy that we commissioned to do this work.

Click here to view the full report

Click here to view the analysis report

For information, the original consultation proposals are here

Following the consultation, we have developed a more detailed set of proposals and we are inviting views on these.

Click here to view the proposals and to have your say

This consultation is open until 23 December 2015

Overview

Update - 30 September 2015

We undertook a consultation on private hire regulations between 27 March and 19 June 2015. We received almost 4,000 responses and these have now been analysed. Responses (apart from stakeholders) were analysed by Steer Davis Gleave (SDG), an independent consultancy that we commissioned to do this work.

Click here to view the full report

Click here to view the analysis report

For information, the original consultation proposals are here

Following the consultation, we have developed a more detailed set of proposals and we are inviting views on these.

Click here to view the proposals and to have your say

This consultation is open until 23 December 2015

The details of the original consultation can be found below.

Update ends

What we proposed?

We sought your views on a number of issues related to the licensing and regulation of private hire vehicles in London.

Transport for London (TfL) licenses and regulates taxi and private hire services in London. In order to ensure the safety of the travelling public, we set the regulations for licensing private hire vehicles, operators and drivers and that define the ways in which the private hire trade operates in London.

A private hire vehicle (PHV) is a vehicle that can carry fewer than nine passengers plus a driver, offered for hire with a driver. This covers minicabs, chauffeur-driven cars, limousines and other services. It is illegal to offer these services except through a licensed operator, taking bookings at a licensed operating centre and using licensed vehicles and drivers. 

We are reviewing the regulations that govern the private hire trade in response to developments within the private hire industry, including advances in technology and changes to the ways that people engage and use private hire services.

Consultation

We are looking for the views of trade members, customers and stakeholders of all sorts on some suggested changes or on other aspects of the regulations. Where possible, we ask you to provide evidence or examples in support of your comments.

The responses to this consultation will be considered and taken into account in deciding whether to act on these proposals, or other proposals that are put forward. If appropriate, we will revise the appropriate Regulations. We may conduct a further consultation if ideas are put forward that need more detailed consideration.

A summary of the responses will be published after the consultation period ends.

Additional information

Background information about London’s private hire trade and the legal framework is available here.

Enquiries about this consultation can be made by email to consultations@tfl.gov.uk, with ‘Private Hire Regulations’ in the subject line.

A PDF version of the information on this website (including background and additional information) can be downloaded here.


 

 

Areas

  • All Areas

Audiences

  • Public
  • Stakeholders
  • Local residents
  • Local businesses
  • Schools
  • London Boroughs
  • Coach Operators
  • Taxi trade
  • Transport for London
  • Taxi customers and other stakeholders

Interests

  • Taxis
  • Private hire
  • Limousines