Extending the route beyond Lewisham to Hayes and Beckenham Junction

Closed 22 Dec 2019

Opened 14 Oct 2019


Your browser does not support inline PDF viewing.Please download the PDF.

A larger map can be found here (PDF 186KB)

To date our plans have focused on a Bakerloo line extension to Lewisham with the possibility of a further extension beyond Lewisham to be delivered as a later phase.

We have considered a number of options for an extension beyond Lewisham and determined that there is a case for developing plans for an extension from Lewisham station to Hayes and Beckenham Junction.

This could involve:

  • Connecting the proposed Bakerloo line extension tunnels to the current National Rail line between Lewisham and Hayes at Wearside Road Council depot (subject to confirming the location of our primary tunnelling worksite – see factsheet 6
  • Converting the current National Rail line to Hayes to accommodate Bakerloo line services
  • Bakerloo line services replacing the current National Rail services on the line, affecting the following stations:
    • Ladywell
    • Catford Bridge
    • Lower Sydenham
    • New Beckenham
    • Clock House
    • Elmers End
    • Eden Park
    • West Wickham
    • Hayes
  • Upgrading these stations and other infrastructure on the Hayes branch
  • Modifying platforms at Beckenham Junction to accommodate the new Bakerloo line trains (Bakerloo line services at this station would be additional to the existing National Rail services to London Victoria)

For further information see factsheet 14.


  • All Areas


  • Anyone from any background


  • Bakerloo line extension